Asked by: Markos Ottensosser
technology and computing augmented reality

How do I temporarily take down my Facebook account?

Last Updated: 25th May, 2020

26
To deactivate your account:
  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page.
  2. Click Settings, then click Your Facebook Informationinthe left column.
  3. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  4. Choose Deactivate Account, then click ContinuetoAccount Deactivation and follow the instructionstoconfirm.

Click to see full answer.

Keeping this in consideration, how long can you deactivate Facebook?

If it's been less than 30 days since youinitiatedthe deletion, you can cancel your accountdeletion. After 30days, your account and all your informationwill bepermanently deleted, and you won't be able toretrieve yourinformation.

what happens when you disable Facebook? Deactivating your account does not fully delete it.Whenyou deactivate your account, Facebook saves allofyour settings, photos, and information in case you decidetoreactivate your account. Your information isn'tgone—it'sjust hidden. If you'd like to save photos andposts fromyour account, click Download Info.

Subsequently, one may also ask, how do you temporarily deactivate Facebook on Iphone?

How to deactivate your Facebook profile temporarilyfromyour iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Facebook app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on More in the bottom navigation.
  3. Tap on Settings.
  4. Tap Account Settings in the menu that appears on screen.
  5. Tap General at the top of your screen.
  6. Tap Manage Account.

What do my friends see when I delete my Facebook account?

When you deactivate your Facebookaccount,Facebook does not send out any notificationwhatsoever. Yourfriends won't know that you'vedeactivated youraccount unless they try to search for yournow-deactivatedprofile or they ask you in the realworld.

Related Question Answers

Aissa Galisteo

Professional

Can you delete Facebook permanently?

The answer is yes, you can dissolve youraccountforever. In fact, you can delete Facebookpermanentlyright here — if you really wantto get it doneas soon as possible. But keep in mind, this isan actualdeletion. When you deactivate yourFacebook account,all your data is still there.

Telma Reichhardt

Professional

How do I delete my Facebook account on my Iphone?

How to deactivate or delete your Facebook account
  1. Launch the Facebook iOS app and tap on the hamburger icon(threelines) in the bottom right corner.
  2. Swipe down to the bottom and tap on Settings & Privacy,thenAccount Settings.
  3. Swipe down again and choose Account Ownership and Control.
  4. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.

Dong Jaraba

Explainer

What happens when you delete your Facebook account permanently?

When you delete yourFacebookprofile:
You need to log on and deleteyouraccount through your profile settings. Allyourinformation is permanently deleted from Facebookafter aboutone month. If you only deactivate youraccount,Facebook will not delete any informationandyou may reactivate.

Jinlong Tirel

Explainer

Why can't I deactivate my Facebook account?

If you deactivate your accountyourprofile won't be visible to other people onFacebookand people won't be able to search for you. If you'dlike to comeback to Facebook anytime after you'vedeactivated youraccount, you can reactivate youraccount by loggingin with your email andpassword.

Mahamadu Corradini

Pundit

How do I delete Facebook data?

Tap “clear” to delete things, ortapthe down arrow to the right of any post or photo todeleteit individually. Just note that once you deletesomething,it takes 90 days to disappear fromFacebook'sservers.

Inmanol Popper

Pundit

Can I hide my Facebook account without deactivating it?

By accessing your Facebook settings,youcan prevent people from reading things you postandhide all of your profile data. If you needtocompletely hide your profile, you cantemporarilydisable your account. All of your datawill besaved, but hidden from everyone onFacebook until youreactivate.

Caifeng Kuns

Pundit

How many times can you deactivate Facebook?

Don't worry, there is no limit to the number oftimesyou can deactivate and reactivate your account.FacebookSays: "You may deactivate your accountfor any numberof temporary reasons. This option gives youthe flexibilityto leave and come back whenever youwant.

Tonisha Alesbury

Pundit

Can you still be tagged after deactivating Facebook?

Yes, they can actually, although it may dependonthe way you deactivate. I deactivated whileleavingMessenger active. You are not removed from friendslists.People can definitely tag you inphotos.

Jacint Mieth

Teacher

Can I reactivate my Facebook account after 2 years?

Facebook automatically saves all datafordeactivated accounts so that you caneasilyreactivate the account if you change your mindandwant to use the social network again. Facebookdoesn'tremove old account information after any settime, soyou can reactivate Facebook a year after closingtheaccount.

Nelso Moucho

Teacher

Does deactivating Facebook delete posts?

You actually deactivate it, and once youdothat all your comments, likes, shares, post andeverythingassociated with your profile disappears like it neverexisted. Butyour message conversation will still be visible onyour friend'sinbox just there won't be your profile picture andlink toit.

Freya Nagabhushana

Teacher

How long after deactivating Facebook Can you reactivate?

Account Deactivation
To reactivate your account, simply log inwithyour existing email address and password. Memberswhodeactivate their account multiple times may be requiredtowait at least 24 hours after logging in for fullaccountactivation.

Valdeci Moya

Teacher

What happens to your photos when you deactivate Facebook?

If you deactivate your account, we savetheinformation in your account (ex: friends,photos,interests), just in case you want to comeback toFacebook at some point. If you choose toreactivateyour account, the information onyour profilewill be there when you comeback.

Jakub Poepperling

Reviewer

How do you know if someone deactivated their Facebook account?

You can tell if it's the formerbysearching for them on your friends list. If theyhavedeactivated their account, their profile willstillbe there.

Tata Bronte

Reviewer

How do I change my default Facebook account on my iPhone?

Go to Settings->Facebook (You willneedto scroll down some way) and then tap your accountname,then tap on 'Delete Account' you can now enter detailsofanother account. This doesn't apply if you are usingtheFacebook App from the App store on your device, this isonlyfor the built-in Facebook integrationiniOS.

Policarpo Welkers

Reviewer

How do I remove an account from my iPhone?

Remove your associated devices on an iPhone, iPad, oriPodtouch
  1. Tap Settings > [your name] > iTunes & App Store.
  2. Tap your Apple ID.
  3. Tap View Apple ID. You might be asked to enteryourpassword.
  4. Scroll to the iTunes in the Cloud section, then tap RemoveThisDevice.

Alizee Hemken

Supporter

What will my friends see if I deactivate Facebook?

If you deactivate your account:Peoplewon't be able to see the information on your TimelineonFacebook. People on Facebook will not be abletosearch for you. If you choose to reactivate youraccount,the information on your profile will be therewhenyou come back.

Glenys Camuñez

Supporter

How long can I leave my Facebook account deactivated?

You can deactivate your account foraslong as you want to and reactivate it at anytime withnoloss of any of your photos or other stuff. Facebook doesnotdelete your account after you deactivate it,unlessyou specifically request deletion.

Matene Rudlaff

Supporter

Can you send messages to a deactivated Facebook account?

Yes, you can still use Messenger, so itfollowsthat your messages will appear afterdeactivatingyour account. In fact, when youpress“Send”, as long as you haveinternetaccess, the message will go straight to therecipient'sinbox. However, if you delete Facebook,your previousmessages will read“FacebookUser”.

Dilawar Jevakhov

Beginner

What does deactivating Facebook mean?

Deactivation. Deactivating your account islessdrastic than deleting the account. The option enablesyou topractically delete your Facebook, only you'll havetheoption to return and reactivate the account. Whenyoudeactivate your account, you lose admin privileges foranyFacebook pages you run.