Asked by: Encina Mokhnatsky
technology and computing augmented reality

Can I use Messenger if I deactivate Facebook?

Last Updated: 6th April, 2020

30
You can keep using Messenger after youdeactivate your Facebook account. If you had aFacebook account and deactivated it, usingMessenger won't reactivate your Facebook account, andyour Facebook friends can still messageyou.

Click to see full answer.

Herein, is it possible to deactivate Facebook but keep Messenger?

All your Facebook data will be safe untilyou're ready to log in again. If you've deactivated youraccount and you use Messenger, it doesn't reactivateyour Facebook account. Your friends will only be ableto contact you via the Messenger app or the chat window inFacebook.

Also Know, how do I deactivate messenger on Facebook?

  1. Open Messenger.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner > Legal& Policies > Deactivate Messenger.
  3. Tap Deactivate.

Similarly, it is asked, what happens to messenger when you delete Facebook?

Yes, you can still use Messenger, so itfollows that your messages will appear after deactivating youraccount. However, if you delete Facebook, your previousmessages will read “Facebook User”. Theywon't be able to respond.

What happens when you deactivate your Facebook account?

When you deactivate your account, Facebooksaves all of your settings, photos, and information in caseyou decide to reactivate your account. Yourinformation isn't gone—it's just hidden. However, it ispossible to delete your account permanently with no optionfor recovery.

Related Question Answers

Mostefa Casasnovas

Professional

What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?

When you deactivate your Facebook account,Facebook does not send out any notification whatsoever. Yourfriends won't know that you've deactivatedyour account unless they try to search for yournow-deactivated profile or they ask you in the realworld.

Danuta Zhebelev

Professional

How can I hide my Facebook account without deleting it?

Steps
  1. Deactivate your page if you want to hide it for a while.
  2. Click the arrow button in the upper-right corner of page andselect "Settings."
  3. Click the "Security" option.
  4. Click "Edit" next to "Deactivate Your Account."
  5. Click the "Deactivate your account" link and follow theprompts.

Lavern Tamhane

Professional

How do I temporarily disable messenger?

How do I deactivate Messenger?
  1. Open Messenger.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner > Legal& Policies > Deactivate Messenger.
  3. Enter your password and tap Continue.
  4. Tap Deactivate.

Aleks Schulein

Explainer

How long can you deactivate Facebook?

If it's been less than 30 days since youinitiated the deletion, you can cancel your accountdeletion. After 30 days, your account and all your informationwill be permanently deleted, and you won't be able toretrieve your information.

Houssnia Alyrchikov

Explainer

Can you deactivate messenger without deactivating Facebook?

If you want to get rid of Facebook Messengerwithout deactivating Facebook, your only option is to turn chatoff. Additionally, you can only deactivate FacebookMessenger from one of its smartphone apps. On the Legal& Policies screen, you will see a DeactivateMessenger option. Tap it and enter your password.

Bubakar Iztieta

Explainer

How do I quit Facebook?

To deactivate, click on the downward-facing arrow in thetop-right corner of any Facebook page in your web browser.Scroll down to Settings, then select General in the column on theleft of the page. Choose Manage Account, and click onDeactivate.

Az Villacian

Pundit

Why can t I deactivate my messenger?

You can only deactivate Messenger if youpreviously deactivated your Facebook account. Todeactivate Messenger after you've deactivated yourFacebook account: Open Messenger. Tap your profilepicture in the top left corner > Privacy & Terms >Deactivate Messenger.

Wilkin Lucca

Pundit

How can I reactivate my messenger?

How do I reactivate a messenger?
  1. Under Manage Messenger, click to select Inactive. . Allinactive messengers display.
  2. Note: The Inactive icon designates the member is not active.Next to the last name of the messenger to be reactivated, click theEdit icon.
  3. Under Change Password, on the Status line, click to selectActive.

Henrikas Glasschroder

Pundit

Can I use Messenger after deleting Facebook?

Yes, you can delete Facebook and still useMessenger. However, when you receive a message, youwill not be able to read the message unless you downloadanother app, Messenger, to read it. this means that theMessenger app is a stand-alone app and can beused on its own even after deletingFacebook.

Idalmis Jaede

Pundit

Does permanently deleting Facebook delete messenger?

When you temporarily deactivate your account:People won't be able to see or go to your Facebook profile.Your photos, posts and videos won't be deleted. Your profilepicture will still be visible in your conversations andpeople will still be able to search for you by name to sendyou a message.

Antxoka Beaskoetxea

Pundit

What happens if I permanently delete Facebook?

When you delete your Facebookprofile:
All your information is permanently deleted fromFacebook after about one month. If you onlydeactivate your account, Facebook will not delete anyinformation and you may reactivate. While deactivated your friendswill still see you in their lists.

Kamaljit Varun

Teacher

Does deleting FB delete messenger?

If you're using your Facebook account for yourMessenger, deleting Facebook will remove yourMessenger also. However, if you download FacebookMessenger app with Facebook, deleting Facebookwon't remove Messenger. The reason is Facebook hasnow made Messenger a standalone app.

Angelyn Aviño

Teacher

How do I permanently delete my Facebook messages on both sides?

How to delete Facebook messages on both sides:
  1. Tap and hold the message.
  2. Click “Remove.”
  3. Select “Remove for Everyone.”
  4. Confirm removal of the message.
  5. A tombstone will appear in the message thread, stating“You removed a message.”

Lashonda Isorna

Teacher

Does deleting Facebook account delete messenger?

You can only deactivate Messenger if youpreviously deactivated your Facebook account. Todeactivate it, open Messenger, then tap your profilepicture in the top left corner, and go to Privacy& Terms > Deactivate Messenger. From there,enter your password and tap Continue.

Azibar Molada

Teacher

Can you block FB Messenger?

If you block messages from someone, butyou don't block them on Facebook,you'll still be able to see their Facebook profile.They person you block will no longer be able to contactyou (example: send you messages, call you) inMessenger or in Facebook chat.

Riaz Onsurbe

Reviewer

Can you still see a deactivated Facebook account?

While your account is deactivated, peopleon Facebook will not be able to search for you, butsome information like messages you've sent may stillbe visible to others. If you permanently delete youraccount, you will not be able to regain access toyour account again, ever.

Yumei Vermeegen

Reviewer

How many times can you deactivate your account?

Don't worry, there is no limit to the number oftimes you can deactivate and reactivate your account.Facebook Says: "You may deactivate your account forany number of temporary reasons.

Elan Veci

Reviewer

Can you still receive notifications after deactivating Facebook?

If you opt out, you will NOTreceive these email invitations and notificationsfrom your friends. Amazing, by default, even after youcancel your Facebook account, Facebook will stillkeep emailing you, unless you opt out.

Lilianne Bahren

Reviewer

Why would someone deactivate their Facebook account?

One of the main reasons Facebook usersdeactivate their accounts is due to privacy concerns. Userswho live private lives in general may feel overwhelmed byFacebook and, not wanting to share their life as muchas Facebook would like, may just deactivate theiraccount.