Asked by: Monir Koppeel
music and audio tv and film podcasts

Can you delete a chat on GroupMe?

Last Updated: 26th March, 2021

42
Select the group or individual chat thatyou want to clear. Select the chat's avatar,then select Settings. Select Clear Chat History (orClear history). Select Clear in the confirmation boxthat appears.

Click to see full answer.

Subsequently, one may also ask, can you delete a message on GroupMe?

Well, you cant really delete images andmessages in GroupMe. Once they are sent, it remainsthere and leaving a group doesn't actually delete themessages. It may be gone from your phone once youleave a group, but it will still remain in the phones of theother members of the group.

Likewise, what happens when you hide a chat on GroupMe? You can hide chats, but you can'tdelete chats from your device. If you hide a chat,it's only hidden on your own device. To hide achat: On iOS: Swipe left on the chat you want tohide.

Similarly one may ask, how do you delete GroupMe?

In the group you want to edit, select the group'savatar, then select Members. In the web version, hover over themember you want to remove and click Remove. In theapp, tap on the person you want to remove, then selectRemove from <group name>.

Does hiding a message on GroupMe hide it from everyone?

GroupMe works just like regular texting. Once youhit Send, there is no way to edit or erase it. You can hidethe message, which will temporarily hide it from yourown device, (to un-hide simply log out and log back in) butit will still show up on everyone else'sdevices.

Related Question Answers

Shah De Hija

Professional

Does clearing chat history on GroupMe clear it for everyone?

You can delete an individual and a group chathistory. This clears the chat history on your device– but the other person will still be able to see thechat. Select the group or individual chat that youwant to clear. Select Clear in the confirmation boxthat appears.

Zhu Mclaughlin

Professional

How do I retrieve deleted chats on GroupMe?

Open any mailbox, then click on the Closed folder fromthe left-hand sidebar. Scroll to the bottom of the Closed folder,then click on the Recently Deleted link. Clicking on aconversation will show you a preview of the deletedmessage. Just click the Restore Conversation button torestore the conversation.

Eleazar Ruiz Portal

Professional

When you add someone to GroupMe can they see previous messages?

Hi Matthew, If you add somebody to a Groupconversation, the person will be able to see allprevious messages in the conversation. Even if youimmediately remove them, they will still be able tosee the message history.

Birute Berasain

Explainer

Can you tell if someone blocks you on GroupMe?

Hi Stevan, If you and the person you blockare in a group conversation together, you'll be notifiedbefore you enter the conversation. If you chooseto enter a group conversation with the person youblocked, you'll able to see their messages andthey'll be able to see yours in thatconversation.

Jorn Horste

Explainer

Can you block someone on GroupMe?

To block a contact:
In the main menu, select Contacts. Select the contactyou want to block, then select Block. In theconfirmation window, select Yes orBlock.

Shuang Wolleben

Explainer

How do I delete group messaging?

Tap Details, then swipe from right to left on the nameof the person you want to remove. Then tap Delete.Anyone in the group message can add or remove someone fromthe conversation. To add a person to a group message, tapDetails, then tap Add Contact.

Moumna Sreenivasa

Pundit

Does GroupMe tell you when you're removed from a group?

No they can't :) Once they are deletedfrom the group, they will be unable to see anythingfrom the group. The group chat stream willalso disappear from the list of chat boxes.

Veena Webert

Pundit

How do you delete avatars on GroupMe?

In the iOS app, tap the Menu icon, then select Profile. In theAndroid app, tap the Menu icon, tap your Avatar, and tap theEdit icon.

If you don't own any groups:
  1. A final confirmation screen appears.
  2. Select Delete.
  3. You are logged out of GroupMe, and your account is marked fordeletion.

Chunying Chrysanthopoulos

Pundit

Does GroupMe tell you when you screenshot?

Screenshot Notifications
Skype developed GroupMe, and it looks andfeels like an old Messenger version. There is no notification thatwarns you about candid screenshots. Other userscan take screenshots and share your chat onlinewithout you knowing.

Kolyo Chuhalov

Pundit

How do I leave a GroupMe chat without anyone knowing?

Scroll to the bottom of the screen and select"Leave This Group." Send the message "#exit"to the group number if you are using SMS messaging insteadof the GroupMe application. Send "#STOP" to any of yourgroup numbers, or to the GroupMe short code, to stopall GroupMe text messages.

Janean Terwart

Pundit

How do you leave a GroupMe chat on iPhone?

From an App
  1. Open the integrated chat or messaging app on your mobiledevice, and then tap the “Groups” option.
  2. Tap the GroupMe group from which you would like to beremoved.
  3. Tap the “Settings” option to open the app'ssettings menu.
  4. Tap the “Leave This Group” option at the bottom ofthe screen.

Giacomo Valovoi

Teacher

How do you add someone back on GroupMe?

Anyone who is a member of the group can add youto the group from the app, or they can send you a share link. Ifyou left the group and want to rejoin: Select the Archives button.Select the group you left, then select Rejoin to be addedback to that group.

Betty Terfruchte

Supporter

Does GroupMe show when you mute?

In a specific group's Settings, you canmute a group. If notifications are muted thenyou will not receive any alerts for this group untilyou turn Mute Off. Go into your phone's settings,select Notifications > GroupMe and ensure AllowNotifications is on. Log out of the GroupMe app, then logback in.

Maanan Mogilev

Supporter

Can you leave a GroupMe you created?

If you created a group and you want toeither leave it or give control of the group to anothermember, you can do this in the app or in the web version ofGroupMe. Log in to your GroupMe account in a webbrowser or in the mobile app. Make sure that the new owner isalready a member of the group.

Holly Perozo

Beginner

How do you make a meme on GroupMe?

Steps
  1. Open GroupMe Web in your internet browser.
  2. Click a group on the left panel.
  3. Click the blue + icon.
  4. Click Share photos and documents on the menu.
  5. Select the image you want to turn into a meme.
  6. Click Open in the pop-up window.
  7. Click the Meme button.
  8. Enter some meme text in either of the text fields.

Giorgina Atyashev

Beginner

Does leaving a GroupMe delete your messages?

How do you delete a message/photo from aGroupMe chat group? Once they are sent, it remains there andleaving a group doesn't actually delete the messages.It may be gone from your phone once you leave agroup, but it will still remain in the phones of theother members of the group.

Darcy Tegenthoff

Beginner

What happens when you remove someone from GroupMe?

When you remove a user, they will not be able tore-join the group unless someone in the group invites themback in.

Paulus Bie

Beginner

What happens when you hide messages on GroupMe?

You can hide messages, but youcan't delete messages from your device. These changes willonly be visible on your own device. To hide amessage: Find the message you want to hide,then tap and hold on that message (right-click on somedevices).