Asked by: Faisal Rackham
technology and computing smartphones

Does a factory reset delete my phone service?

Last Updated: 25th May, 2020

36
Factory resetting your phone won'taffectyour phone number, and there is no need to take yourSIMcard out. It will only erase your internalcellphonememory and bring it to the state it was when you first gotit outof the box when new, but it won't touch your SIMcard.

Click to see full answer.

Simply so, does a factory reset delete SIM card?

As such, it does not reset the devicetoits original factory settings and is not a way to returnthedevice to a state compatible with the manufacturer's warranty.Dataon the SIM card and the MicroSD card are noterased.The service menu commonly includes a tool that performsafactory reset.

Subsequently, question is, will a factory reset delete my contacts? All google contacts are synced with thegmailaccount associated with your phone. When you do afactoryreset, these contacts will come back once yousign intoyour google account. Phone contacts are stored onthe phoneitself. These will be erased when you do afactoryreset.

Then, how do I factory reset my phone without losing everything?

Navigate to Settings, Backup and resetandthen Reset settings. 2. If you have an option thatsays'Reset settings' this is possibly where you canresetthe phone without losing all your data.If the optionjust says 'Reset phone' you don't have theoption to savedata.

How do you reset your SIM card?

Type resetSim Firstname Lastname and click Enter.Makesure you enter the name of the Sim you wanttoreset. For example: If you want to resetGobiasKoffi, type: resetSim Gobias Koffi, and press Enter. If youneed toreset all of the Sims in your currentgame,you can type resetSim *.

Related Question Answers

Alam Reigota

Professional

What does resetting your phone do?

Usually, when you do a full reset,allyour data and apps get deleted. The resetcausesthe phone to return to its original setting as if itwerenew. However, iPhone allows you other reset optionsaswell.

Honorio Nowark

Professional

What is stored on a SIM card?

Data that SIM cards contain include useridentity,location and phone number, network authorization data,personalsecurity keys, contact lists and stored textmessages. SIMcards allow a mobile user to use this data andthe features thatcome with them.

Husnain Nadicksbernd

Professional

How do I do a factory reset?

Factory reset your phone
  1. Open your phone's Settings app.
  2. Tap System Advanced Reset options.
  3. Tap Erase all data (factory reset) Reset phone.
  4. To erase all data from your phone's internal storage, tapEraseeverything.
  5. When your phone has finished erasing, pick the optiontorestart.

Espen Raghuram

Explainer

Is hard reset and factory reset the same?

A factory reset relates to the rebooting oftheentire system, while hard resets relates totheresetting of any hardware in the system.FactoryReset: Factory resets are generally done toremove thedata entirely from a device, the device is to be startedagain andrequires the need of re installation of thesoftware.

Yanka Cardanho

Explainer

Does a factory reset delete everything?

Android's Factory Reset Doesn'tDeleteEverything. However, a security firm has determinedreturningAndroid devices to factory settings doesn'tactually wipethem clean. Here are the step you need to take toprotect yourdata.

Angelines SiƱol

Explainer

What happens if I remove my SIM card from my Android phone?

What happens when you remove a SIMcardfrom your phone? The SIM card is whatconnects yourphone to the mobile or cellular serviceprovider'snetwork. Therefore, if the SIM card is removed,thephone will no longer be able to connect tothatnetwork.

Filoftia Lieck

Pundit

What happens after factory reset?

Factory reset will erase all your files fromthephone's internal memory! 2# Backup apps data, andupdates:Factory reset will erase your apps too! Whenyou dofactory reset, the system restores to it's originalstate!As a result, you'll lose all the downloaded apps and theupdates ofbuilt-in apps!

Esma Pilamunga

Pundit

Will a factory reset delete my pictures?

When you restore to factory defaults,thisinformation is not deleted; instead it's used toreinstallall necessary software for your device. The only dataremovedduring a factory reset is data you add: apps,contacts,stored messages and multimedia fileslikephotos.

Myrta Ajates

Pundit

How do I reset my phone?

Factory reset your Android phone from theSettingsmenu
  1. In the Settings menu, find Backup & reset, then tapFactorydata reset and Reset phone.
  2. You'll be prompted to enter your pass code and then toEraseeverything.
  3. Once that is done, select the option to reboot your phone.
  4. Then, you can restore your phone's data.

Crisan Duncklenberg

Pundit

How do you reboot your phone?

If you would like to use the Power buttontoreboot your Android device, all you must do is pressandhold down the Power button for a fewseconds.A menu will appear asking what action you would liketotake. Tap on the option thatsaysReboot/Restart and your phonewillreboot instead of turning off.

Anje Morey

Pundit

How do I restore my Android phone?

Anyone who follows these steps can restore theAndroidphone.
  1. Go to Settings. The first step tells you to go to Settingsonyour phone and tap on it.
  2. Scroll down to Backup & Reset.
  3. Tap on Factory Data Reset.
  4. Click on Reset Device.
  5. Tap on Erase Everything.

Hildelisa Tenhaef

Teacher

What are the benefits of factory reset?

Additionally, as stated before the data on SD cardsandSIM cannot be erased in a factory reset, which negatesmuchof the value of remote factory resets to secureassets.Simply put, a factory reset is really good at onething– erasing local storage – and notmuchelse.

Aratz Obaldia

Teacher

How do I get my contacts back after factory reset?

Steps To Recover Lost Contacts From Android AfterFactoryReset
  1. Step 1 – Connect Your Android Phone. Download, installandlaunch Android Data Recovery on your computer and thenselect“Recover” option.
  2. Step 2 – Select File Types For Scanning.
  3. Step 4 – Preview and Recover Deleted Data FromAndroidDevices.

Filipp Curcio

Teacher

How do I get my photos back after factory reset?

  1. Download and install Android Data Recovery.
  2. Run the program.
  3. Enable 'USB Debugging' in your phone.
  4. Connect phone to pc via usb cable.
  5. Click 'Start' in the software.
  6. Click 'Allow' in the device.
  7. Software will now scan for recoverable files.
  8. After scan is finished, you can preview and restore pics.

Ornela Boucetta

Teacher

How do I save my contacts before factory reset?

Open your camera, open it'ssettings,scroll to the bottom and selectStorage/memory card. Doing afactory reset won't eraseyour memory card but mostpeople remove it anywaybefore doing this. To backupcontacts to memory card:go tocontacts/menu/Import-Export/ selectExport toSD card.

Ceu Arraztoa

Reviewer

Is it good to reset your phone?

You shouldn't have to regularly factory resetyourphone. A factory reset will erase all the addeddatafrom your phone, and it can be a hassle to have tosetyour phone up again the way you like it. Over time, dataandcache can build up in your phone, making aresetnecessary.

Chafik Villao

Reviewer

Can data be recovered after factory reset?

Option 2: Recover Data After Factory ResetviaLocal Backup
Many Android phones are endowed with local backup apporfunction. If you have backed up data regularly,then,after a factory reset, just goto“Settings” > “Back up&restore”, and select the latest backup filetorestore data from backup.

Albertas Ruppelt

Reviewer

Does a factory reset delete text messages?

You're absolutely correct with your assumptionafactory-reset will delete all your appsanddata (as you also can find in thefactory-resettag-wiki). If you want to backup yourcontacts and SMS, I'mafraid there's no native way. Btw: Onmost devices, you easily canbackup your contacts with the nativeContacts app.

Valencia Rathgen

Reviewer

Does factory reset delete everything on your phone?

After encrypting your phone data, youcansafely Factory reset your phone. However, itshould be notedthat all data will be deletedso if you wouldlike to save any data make a backup ofit first. ToFactory Reset your phone go to: Settingsand tap onBackup and reset under theheading“PERSONAL”.