Asked by: Janita Fitas
sports fishing sports

Does NYS require a boating license?

Last Updated: 14th April, 2020

45
Boating Education. New York State requires certain boat operators to have a boating safety certificate. New York and most other states do not require a "license" to operate your personal recreational boat.

Click to see full answer.

Correspondingly, do you need a boating license in MI?

A: If you're 21 or older, you don't need a license in order to operate a boat in Michigan waters. To drive a boat powered by more than 6 horsepower, an under-12 must obtain a boating safety certificate and be supervised by a person who's at least 16.

Beside above, what states require a boaters license? State Boating Requirements/Laws

State Who is required to complete a boating education course
Maine 16 and 17 year olds who will operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC).
Maryland Anyone born on or after July 1, 1972 who is operating a motorized vessel on MD waters must have a valid certificate of boating safety education.

Regarding this, can you drive a boat without a boaters license?

You do not need to have a driver's license to operate a boat, but you need your boating license.

Do you need a boaters Licence?

Most states require that boaters complete an official and certified boater education course. The Boater Education Card (sometimes called a "boater's license") is proof that you have successfully completed your state's official & approved boating safety course. Getting started is easy.

Related Question Answers

Nurul Nili

Professional

How much is a Michigan boating license?

You can obtain your Michigan Boating Safety Certificate in 4 easy steps: Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 — free unlimited retries of the final exam. Study the Michigan Boating Safety Course.

Bouzian Wiskirchen

Professional

Can you drive a jet ski without a boating license?

What is the fine for operating a powered watercraft without your card? Jet Skis, Wave Runners and Sea-doo's are specific brands of Personal Watercrafts. All operators of Personal Watercrafts are required to carry a Pleasure Craft Operator Card, commonly known as a boating license (or proof of competency).

Shay Ellrott

Professional

Where can I get my boaters license?

You can get a boater education certificate by taking a boat safety course with Boat Ed. Because each safety course has boating laws and regulations specific to that state, visit your state's approved course to find out if you need the card in order to legally get on the water.

Florentino Candenas

Explainer

What size motor requires a boat license?

Boat and personal watercraft licences. You must have a marine licence to operate a boat that has an engine power greater than 4.5kW. You don't need to carry your licence with you on the water, but you must have proof of identity with you.

Cory Verdu

Explainer

How much is boater safety course?

How much do the boater exams cost? A. The cost of the exam is $44.95 + TAX. This fee includes the exam and the card mailed to your home.

Neida Camurca

Explainer

How long is the boaters safety course online?

Typically it takes about 3 hours to go through the online course, excluding any quizzes and/or exams and re-studying that you may choose to do.

Niall Hevrolin

Pundit

Can you drink and drive a boat Michigan?

Michigan law does not prohibit drinking on the water. Passengers—and the watercraft operator—can openly cruise around with a bottle or two. A blood-alcohol content of 0.10 percent or greater constitutes operating under the influence.

Dessie Anderwert

Pundit

How old do you have to be to not need a boating license?

Persons 14 years old up to 16 years of age may operate if they are accompanied by an adult 18 or older or have a certificate of competency from a NASBLA approved boating education course and some form of ID. Minor 12-15 years must be state certified to operate over a ten horsepower boat without an adult on board.

Shiyong Gaspa

Pundit

Can I get a boat license if my driver's license is suspended?

For those interested, Section 204 of the Road Transport Act allows a court to disqualify a driver, after conviction for a major offence. For example, Drink Driving or Driving whilst Suspended. This means, a person can have one licence covering their driver's license and boat license.

Kortney Charness

Pundit

Do you need a boat license for electric motors?

A. As of September 15, 2009, all boaters are required to have the Pleasure Craft Operator Card in order to operate a powered watercraft. There is no grandfather clause or age exemption – this law applies to all boaters. Powered watercraft includes watercraft fitted with any size motor — even an electric trolling motor.

AriƱe Kierstan

Pundit

Can I get my boat license online?

In most cases the boat license course can be completed online, and is followed by a boat license test that is also completed online. The boating safety certificate courses are not as comprehensive as those for an automobile driver's license; there's usually no on-water driver's education required, for example.

Neeltje Gschwender

Teacher

What are boaters required to do at all times?

It is the responsibility of every boat or PWC operator to: Operate in a safe manner. Take all necessary action to avoid a collision, taking into account the weather, vessel traffic, and limits of other vessels. Such action should be taken in time to avoid a collision and at a safe distance from other vessels.

Paqui Orti

Teacher

Nataniel Told

Teacher

Do I need a boating license in Florida?

In the state of Florida, a Boating Safety Education Identification Card is required to operate any motorboat of at least ten horsepower for anyone born on or after January 1, 1988. Technically, Florida does not require a “license”, but the Boating Safety ID Card serves the same purpose.

Renan Jakobus

Teacher

Do you need a Licence for a small boat?

The simple answer is that unlike a car, where you need a driving licence, there isn't a "boating licence" as such for those boating for the purposes of private pleasure.

Monet Heimbuchner

Reviewer

Is a trolling motor considered motorized?

Generally, boats must be registered in their state if they have a gasoline, diesel or electric motor, including a trolling motor. Personal Watercrafts (PWCs) are considered motorized crafts and needs to be registered in most states.

Nasrallah El Bouziani

Reviewer

What is the fine for not having your boat registered?

Operating Unlicenced Vessel
The maximum penalty for committing this offence is to have a conviction recorded, a cancellation, suspension or disqualification of the boating licence and a fine of $1,650. The court will use its discretion when determining the period of disqualification.

Tiana Heyter

Reviewer

How long is the boat license test?

The Online Course & Test take approximately 3 hours to complete. You can print your Temporary Card immediately once you pass the Transport Canada Test, and your Permanent Card will arrive in the mail within 4 weeks! This is the fastest way to get your boating license, Ontario!

Saber Yankov

Reviewer

How much is a boating license in NY?

You can obtain your New York Boater Education Card in 3 easy steps: Pay the one-time fee of $29.95 — free unlimited retries of the final exam. Study the New York Boating Safety Course and pass the final exam. Print a temporary card immediately and receive your permanent card in the mail within 3-5 weeks.