Asked by: Nasim Schlumbohm
music and audio tv and film podcasts

How do I turn off PhotoStream on my Mac?

Last Updated: 6th March, 2020

11
And this is how you switch it off on Mac:Open the Photos app. Go to Photos > Preferences >iCloud from the menu bar. Uncheck the box for MyPhoto Stream.

How to turn off My Photo Stream
  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap on your Apple ID account.
  3. Select iCloud and then Photos.
  4. Turn off the toggle for My Photo Stream.

Click to see full answer.

Similarly, it is asked, how do I turn on PhotoStream on my Mac?

See your photos in My Photo Stream

  1. iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. iOS 8 or later: Tap Photos >Albums > My Photo Stream.
  2. Mac. Go to Photos > Albums > My Photo Stream.
  3. Apple TV. Apple TV HD: After you sign in to iCloud, go toSettings > Accounts > iCloud and turn on My PhotoStream.
  4. Windows PC.

Also Know, can you delete Photo Stream without deleting camera roll? Also, photos stored in your Photo Streamdo not affect your iCloud storage in any way. But this freeservice comes with some limitations. When you delete aphoto from My Photo Stream, it willautomatically erase from other devices connected toyour iCloud account. This will leave the Camera Rollcopy intact.

People also ask, why did my PhotoStream disappear?

As Apple says, once you turn on iCloud Photo Library onyour iOS device, My Photo Stream folder willdisappear and photos in it will be transferred to All PhotoFolder on your Photo app. And if you want to show My PhotoStream tab again, just go to Setting > iCloud > Photos todisable iCloud Photo Library.

What is the difference between my photo stream and iCloud?

iCloud Photo Library is similar to My PhotoStream in that it uploads photos to the cloud and syncsthem across all iOS devices. But the biggest differencebetween the two services is that iCloud Photo Librarykeeps a full-sized copy in the cloud and doesn't have aspecific maximum number of photos and videos.

Related Question Answers

Khadijah Pire

Professional

Does turning off Photo Stream delete photos?

1 Answer
  • Short answer: No, you won't lose your photos.
  • Solution: For free and complete syncing, the only way to go isto turn off iCloud Photo Library and My Photo Stream and stick withmanual wired or WiFi syncing.
  • Details: Turning off photo stream will not make you lose yourphotos.

Hongying Norris

Professional

Edivia Echterhoff

Explainer

What happens if I turn off iCloud photos?

If iCloud is turned off for your iPhoneand you delete a photo from your phone, it will not beremoved from iCloud or other connected devices. However,if you decide to enable iCloud Photos again, thenthat particular photo will be removed from iCloud andother connected devices.

Yordanov Nehb

Explainer

Does my photo stream take up storage?

The good news about both My Photo Stream and yourShared Photo Streams is that it does not countagainst your iCloud storage quota. The downside is that thistakes up additional storage space on all of yourdevices, including the device you took the photoswith.

Karlyn Herwigs

Explainer

What is camera roll?

The camera roll is a place in the Photos appwhere all your photos and videos are saved. On a device without acamera the camera roll album is called "savedimages", because other applications can add images to it, but it isholding all images in your Photos library as well.

Roderick Wiegandt

Pundit

How do I add photos to photostream on Mac?

Add photos to Photo Stream
  1. In iPhoto, drag one or more photos from Events, Photos, Places,or Faces view to Photo Stream in the Source list.
  2. Select one or more photos, and then click the Share button inthe toolbar and choose Photo Stream from the pop-up menu.
  3. Select one or more photos, and then choose Share > PhotoStream.

Inesa Isernia

Pundit

How do I access iCloud photo library?

Open up Settings and tap on iCloud. From theretap on Photos. Then you are going to turn on iCloud PhotoLibrary. This will automatically upload and store your entirelibrary in iCloud to access photos and videosfrom all of your devices.

Salamata Mesegue

Pundit

Does deleting a shared album delete the photos?

When you delete a photo or video from a sharedphoto album, it's removed from the shared album on allyour devices and all subscribers' devices.

Sobia El Hadi

Pundit

How do I turn off iCloud photo library without deleting photos?

Turn off iCloud Photo Library without Deleting PhotosiPhone
Firstly, you want to head to your Settings app, andthen click through 'Your Name > iCloud >Photos' and then tap 'iCloud Photo Library' toswitch it off.

Rosalee Shirinyan

Pundit

What is my photo stream Mac?

Apple's iCloud service includes My Photo Stream,a free way for users to sync their last 1000 photoswirelessly between their iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Apple TV.Unlike iCloud Photo Library, it also doesn't take up any ofyour precious iCloud storage space — giving you moreroom for backups and app data.

Barabara Juntgen

Teacher

How do I stop sharing my camera roll?

How to disable iCloud Photos sharing on iPhone andiPad
  1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Scroll down and tap Photos.
  3. Toggle the iCloud Photo Sharing switch off.

Jazmin Sabroso

Teacher

How do I photostream from iPhone to Mac?

To ensure that Photo Stream is turned on iniPhoto, visit iPhoto Preferences, tap the iCloud tab, andselect (if it isn't already selected) the My Photo Streamcheck box. You can start out in System Preferences as well. ClickiCloud, select Photos, and then selectOptions.

Narcis Chulvi

Teacher

How do I stop sharing photos between iPhones?

To disable Photo Stream on their devices:
  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap on Photos & Camera.
  3. Ensure "Shared Photo Streams" is set to On.
  4. Slide the "My Photo Stream" toggle to the left to turn itoff.

Carmenza Kuhn

Teacher

What happens if you disable and delete iCloud photo library?

If you turn off iCloud Photo stream on thedevice, Photo stream, and the images in the stream folder,are removed from the device, BUT NOT FROM iCloud. Ifyou have any other devices using iCloud photo stream,they will not be impacted. The photo's will still remain in'the cloud'.

Miyoko Corte

Reviewer

What is Photo Stream and camera roll?

Camera Roll is an App that only sits on yourdevice and stores photos whereas My Photo Stream, ifenabled, is a centralized location in iCloud for sharingphotos across devices by syncing. Although it might seemdifficult to understand the difference between Camera Rolland My Photo steam, but it is simple.

Hongjun Zaugg

Reviewer

How can I stop my photos from syncing to my iPad?

Stop syncing all photos
  1. Open iTunes on your computer and connect your iPhone, iPad, oriPod touch.
  2. Click on the device icon in iTunes.
  3. Click Photos.
  4. Deselect "Sync Photos" then click "Remove photos."
  5. Click Apply.

Snezhana Vajnichy

Reviewer

Why are all my photos not on iCloud?

Method 1: Enable iCloud PhotoLibrary
The reason as to why your photos are notuploading to iCloud may be because you have notenabled your iCloud Photo Library. The following stepsshould help you fix this issue on your iPhone/iPad and Mac. OniPhone/iPad: Go to your device Settings> Apple ID>iCloud> Photos.

Ot Dogilev

Reviewer

Is iPhoto connected to iCloud?

Photo Stream on Photos is exactly like the one on iOSdevices, and is also the same as the iCloud section we usedto have in iPhoto. Here is where all your most recent photosare stored regardless of which device you use to shoot them. Onyour Mac, you can access them via Albums >My PhotoStream.

Kristina Alberto

Supporter

How do I create a Photo Stream?

To create a Shared Photo Stream, launchthe Photos app on your iOS device, and select the PhotoStream option at the bottom of the screen. In the upper-leftcorner is a + sign; tap on it. Enter the iCloud e-mail address ofthe person (or people) you'd like to share your album with. Enter aname for the album.