Asked by: Mimona Durha
technology and computing web conferencing

How do you delete a contact in hangouts?

Last Updated: 26th March, 2021

32
There is no Direct way to delete HangoutContacts,since all the contacts in your list will besynced to your Gmail account. But then if you deliberately want todelete someone,then you can Hide them from your List orsimply Block them.

Click to see full answer.

Similarly, it is asked, how do I delete someone on Hangouts?

I want to delete someone permanently -Hangouts Help. On Desktop, click the Cog wheel, and you'llsee this screen where you can block them. In the Android app, inthe conversation, click on the three dots, then People, then threedots again, and you'll see this popup where you can blockthem.

Similarly, what happens when you hide a contact on Hangouts? Google Hangouts update brings new 'hiddencontacts mode' First up we have a feature which has been dubbed'hidden contacts' by the folks over at Google, it allowsusers to hide individual's from their contact listswithout blocking their messages entirely.

Also know, how do I delete Hangouts messages on both sides?

In order to delete a message in hangouts do thefollowing:

  1. Open Hangouts at Google Hangouts or in Gmail.
  2. Select the person from the Hangouts list to open theconversation.
  3. At the top right of the conversation window, click Settings.
  4. Select Delete Hangout.
  5. Click Delete.

How do I permanently delete a contact from Hangouts?

Select the person from the Hangouts list to openthe conversation. At the top of the conversation, click Settings .If you want to remove someone from your list, but don't wantto block them, open the "Contacts" tab Point to the person'sname More Hide [contact name].

Related Question Answers

Luella Zampetti

Professional

How do you track someone on Google Hangouts?

Get directions to a friend's location withGoogle+
  1. Step 1: Press on the top bar of Google+ where you choose whichcircles to view and then tap the Locations icon at the bottom ofthe screen.
  2. Step 2: Zoom out to find your friend's photo on the map, thentap on it.
  3. Step 3: Slide the info bar to the right or left to reveal theDirections and Hangouts icons.

Fuqiang Haak

Professional

Can you tell if someone blocked you on Hangouts?

In the similar way you can find it out inHangouts.Just check whether the below points.If yousee the any of the points taking place then it is sure that ,thatperson has blocked you. When someone hasblocked you ,the first thing you will notice is thatyou wont be able to send messages to that particularperson.

Joaquima Erenas

Professional

How do I know if someone read my message on Hangouts?

Hangouts show conversations, not justpeople
Hangouts members will receive a notification,and be able to read your message when they next access theHangout. You'll know who has read your messagebecause the new Hangouts displays the user's profile imagebelow the last message they've read in a discussionstream.

Saladino Ruskin

Explainer

How do I hide a contact on Hangouts?

See hidden contacts
  1. Go to Hangouts at hangouts.google.com or in Gmail.
  2. Open your settings. In the Hangouts app, click Menu Settings.In Gmail, click the Down arrow .
  3. Click Hidden contacts.
  4. To see your hidden contacts again, tap Unhide.

Tawana Derich

Explainer

How do you delete someone from your Gmail?

Delete a Contact From Gmail
  1. Open Google Contacts.
  2. Check all the contacts you want to delete.
  3. Click the three-dot icon that appears in the upper right cornerand select Delete from the toolbar that appears.
  4. When prompted, confirm the action by selecting Delete from themenu that appears.

Touda Lechon

Explainer

How do I remove someone from my Google chat list?

Enter the name of the person you want toremove in the search box located at the top of your chatlist to open a new window. Select "Chat" to launch a newdialog box. Click the "Actions" menu and then select "Block" toremove the person from your chat list andblock any Google Chat messages from thatperson.

Calin Morenas

Pundit

How do you block someone from your Gmail?

Gmail users can now block specific emailaddresses with just two clicks. In the top right hand corner of amessage, click the drop-down menu button (upside down triangle),and select "block." (It appears with the name of the senderin quotes.) Any future messages from the blocked addresses willland in the spam folder.

Lakbir Itzasa

Pundit

Are Google hangout chats private?

After all, Google Hangouts are encrypted andsecured right. Well, yes, technically,so we thought. We discoveredthat all images shared via a Google Hangout Chat are notprivate to the parties on the hangout/chat! Itturns out, anyone can view any images you share via Hangoutwithout any sweat.

Gwenda Zambotto

Pundit

Can you recover a deleted conversation on Hangouts?

If your Hangouts history have been turnedon for Gmail to automatically save your chats. You can tryto find and review Hangouts messages in Gmail when youdeleted them by mistake. Click Chats. You'll see a listof all your Hangouts histories that yousaved.

Jannett Shimon

Pundit

Can you Unsend messages on Hangouts?

Seamless messaging is a major perk on GoogleHangouts, but unfortunately you can't deleteindividual messages you've already sent. If amessage dilemma occurs, there's only two steps youcan take: go to “settings” and delete yourconversation history with one person or delete yourconversation history with a group.

Nisma Viyuela

Pundit

Can I Unsend a Hangouts message?

Until the update, you can delete a messageyou send on your own device, but the recipient's version of yourconversation remains untouched. If you unsend amessage with the new feature, however, it willdisappear from the recipient's feed, as long as you do itwithin that 10 minute window just after sending.

Dimitrios Urrejola

Teacher

How do I delete pictures from Hangouts chat?

Delete your photos
  1. On your computer, open the Google Album Archive with yourHangouts account.
  2. Click Photos from Hangouts.
  3. Select the album with the photos you want to delete.
  4. Click the photo that you want to delete.
  5. At the top, click More Delete photo.
  6. To delete the album, open the album and click More Deletealbum.

Rutha Schenetten

Supporter

How do I hide Hangouts in Gmail?

Click the Gear (Settings) icon in the top right cornerfrom any screen in Gmail. Click the radio button next toChat off to hide your online status and chat availability.Click Save Changes. Gmail will reload, and the chat windowwill no longer be visible.

Alvar Vieito

Supporter

Where is Hangouts in Gmail?

Steps
  1. Go to Gmail. Open www.google.com/gmail in your web browser andlog in with your account.
  2. Click on the "Hangouts" icon. You can see the dark icon on theleft side of the page.
  3. Click on the + button from the Hangouts section. It's near yourHangouts name.
  4. Search for someone to chat with.
  5. Start chatting.

Diocelina Allart

Supporter

How secure is Google Hangouts?

App to avoid: Google Hangouts
Though it does encrypt hangout conversations, itdoesn't use end-to-end encryption — instead, messages areencrypted “in transit”. This means that they are onlyencrypted between your device and Google's servers. Oncethey are on a server, Google has complete access tothem.