Asked by: Erea Satrustegui
real estate real estate renting and leasing

How long does it take to evict someone in New Hampshire?

Last Updated: 13th May, 2020

32
7 days is required for almost all evictions. 30 days is required for month-to-month leases. The notice must state the specific reason for eviction, and can be delivered in person, or left on their door. When the notice is up, issue a writ of summons.

Click to see full answer.

Besides, what is the eviction process in NH?

A landlord can legally evict a tenant only by sending a written notice to the tenant. This written notice must be in the form of a "written notice to quit or leave" which is a legal document. Eviction for not paying rent, damages to the property or danger to the health or safety of others require seven days' notice.

Secondly, does an eviction notice have to be served by a sheriff? Your landlord may personally deliver the notice to you. It does not have to be delivered by the sheriff or notarized in order to be valid. There may be a brief period at the very beginning of the eviction in which tenants can negotiate directly with their landlord to stop the eviction.

Also to know is, can my landlord evict me in 7 days?

Your landlord must give you a written Eviction Notice, sometimes called a "Notice To Quit." If you do not have a lease, the Notice will tell you that you have either 7 days or 30 days to move out. A verbal eviction notice is generally not legal. Keep your eviction notice.

Where do I file for an eviction notice?

Generally, you will file at the district courthouse for the county where the rental property is located. But if the tenant owes you a lot of rent, and you want a money judgment for the debt, then you may need to file in a superior court.

Related Question Answers

Vardan Lubowitz

Professional

Can you be evicted in the winter in NH?

Yes, it is possible for a tenant to be evicted in the winter months in New Hampshire. Nothing in the New Hampshire Code addressing landlord-tenant actions (Chapter 540) prohibits a landlord from eviciting a tenant, provided they follow all applicable laws during the eviction process.

Denilson Lama

Professional

Can a landlord enter without permission in NH?

It is against the law RSA 540-A for a landlord to:
Enter your residence without permission, except to make emergency repairs. (You should not refuse your landlord's reasonable request to enter with enough notice); Take any other action to force you out of your home without going through the eviction process.

Hoa Malacu

Professional

Can you be evicted in 3 days?

If a landlord is trying to evict a tenant for not paying rent, the landlord must first give the tenant a three-day notice of nonpayment of rent. The notice should tell the tenant how much rent is owed, and that the tenant has three days to pay it. If the tenant pays within the three days, the tenant can stay.

Aleixandra Ochaita

Explainer

Does the sheriff evict on weekends?

The sheriff can either give the notice to the tenant personally or post it on the door of the rental unit. The tenant does not get to skip Saturday and Sunday and wait until Monday to pay or vacate. TIP: The sheriff's office does not serve notices and other legal papers on the weekends or holidays.

Jone Jerger

Explainer

How long does it take to process an eviction?

Generally speaking, the eviction process can take anywhere from as little as two weeks in the fastest states to as long as three (or even more) months in states where the process has to go through many more steps.

Saleta Grawenhoff

Explainer

What is a landlord and tenant writ?

The writ of possession is the brass ring every landlord grabs for when a landlord brings a tenant to eviction court. The writ of possession is the court order that allows a landlord to have a tenant lawfully removed from the home.

Diyana Spadoni

Pundit

What is a writ notice?

A writ of possession is issued after a landlord wins an eviction case in court. A writ of possession can also be called a writ of eviction. This order allows a person or group to take possession of real property by forcing the person or group currently in possession of the property out.

Moustapha Latiegui

Pundit

How much can a landlord raise rent in NH?

If your landlord gives you a valid 30-day rent increase notice which you do not pay, you will not have the right to cure by paying the increased amount after the landlord issues the 30-day notice to quit. There is no New Hampshire statute limiting how much a landlord can raise the rent.

Fakhar Brunido

Pundit

What a landlord can and Cannot do?

A landlord cannot refuse to rent to persons in a protected class. A landlord cannot provide different services or facilities to tenants in a protected class or require a larger deposit, or treat late rental payments differently. A landlord cannot end a tenancy for a discriminatory reason. A landlord cannot harass you.

Isaac De Herran

Pundit

Can my landlord kick me out for no reason?

Answer. Although you say that your landlord “evicted you” for no apparent reason, chances are you're talking about receiving a termination notice, telling you to move within a certain number of days or face an eviction lawsuit. Only the court can order an eviction, and only a designated officer can carry it out.

Joe Royall

Pundit

How long can I stay after my lease is up?

If a landlord would like to end a lease when its term expires, some states require the landlord to give notice to the tenant even though the lease already specifies the termination date. 60 days is usually a sufficient notice for a tenant to search for a new rental.

Alexsandra Hollerbuhl

Teacher

How can I get my landlord in trouble?

Here are 5 common legal pitfalls that could get landlords in trouble:
  1. Unlawfully Evicting a Tenant.
  2. Mishandling the Security Deposit.
  3. Failing to Mitigate Damages if a Tenant Leaves Early.
  4. Giving Improper Notice to Vacate.
  5. Including Nonstandard Rental Provisions.

Savita Tchekhlakovsky

Teacher

What are my rights as a tenant without a lease?

A landlord may evict a tenant for failure to pay rent with a three- or five-day notice, depending on state law, whether there is a signed lease or not. In most places, a landlord can evict a tenant without any reason if there is no lease or a month-to-month lease.

Glorificacion Prateek

Teacher

How long does the eviction process take in NH?

For all other evictions, serve tenants a notice to quit.
7 days is required for almost all evictions. 30 days is required for month-to-month leases. The notice must state the specific reason for eviction, and can be delivered in person, or left on their door.

Rozina Chutchev

Teacher

What time does the sheriff come to evict?

If you are evicted by the Sheriff, you have 72 hours (3 full days) to take your belongings. During those 72 hours, your landlord must keep your things in or near your place and must let you get them any time between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Serhiy Peneira

Reviewer

How do I evict someone not on the lease?

Part 2 Bringing an Eviction Suit
  1. Give sufficient notice. Your state law will tell you how much notice you must give the tenant.
  2. Provide notice in writing. You should type up the Notice to Quit and keep a copy for your records.
  3. Do not forcibly remove the tenant.
  4. File a petition with the court.
  5. Attend a hearing.

Ramazan Ibarzabal

Reviewer

Is it illegal to rent a house without a lease?

If you rent a property without a written lease, you are a tenant at will. You have several protected rights as guaranteed for all renters by your state laws. Having no lease also may benefit you in certain situations. Minimum notice periods still apply for rental termination even with no lease.

Zakariyae Veledeev

Reviewer

Can you be evicted on a weekend?

No, you cannot be evicted on a weekend or a holiday. However, Saturday, Sundays, and holidays do count when calculating the 10-day period.

Lieselotte Larragoiti

Reviewer

Can an eviction notice be left on the door?

The notice on your door is not an actual eviction. An eviction can only be mandated by the court. The notice on your door is really a Notice to Pay or Quit. This notice is issued by the landlord, and includes the date the landlord is requiring you to vacate the rental unit.