Asked by: Arfang Caballe
automotive auto repair

How long does it take to get smog certified?

Last Updated: 21st February, 2020

15
Complete the BAR (Bureau of Automotive Repair) specified diagnostic and repair training, and have two years of work experience. Complete Level 1 engine and emission control training (68 hours), and Level 2 smog check Training (28 hours), as well as pass the state licensing exam within the past two years.

Click to see full answer.

Besides, how long does it take for DMV to receive smog certification?

24 hours

Additionally, how much should a smog check cost? It will normally range anywhere between $29.95 to $89.95 depending on the county you live in and the type of smog inspection your vehicle requires. This price may or may not include the State's Certificate Fee of $8.25, which is charged only and if your vehicle passes the test.

In this manner, how long does it take to get a smog check?

about 20-30 minutes

How do I get my smog inspector license?

The steps below indicate the way to obtain your smog inspection technician license.

  1. Step 1: Complete level 1 technical training.
  2. Step 2: Complete level 2 training.
  3. Step 3: Pass the state-administered smog technician exam.
  4. Step 1: Complete the application requirements for smog repair technician.

Related Question Answers

Windy Raff

Professional

Can I pay registration without smog?

Technically you can't renew your vehicle's registration without a smog check, but you can pay your renewal fees. You may pay your vehicle registration renewal fees now without a smog check, but you'll receive your new registration card and sticker after a passing smog check is obtained.

Lindalva Hlebodarov

Professional

What happens if I fail emissions twice?

After You Fail the Emissions Test
If your vehicle fails to pass, the DMV will not register your vehicle, meaning you can't get a license plate to legally drive the car. Once you have these repairs made, you can take your vehicle back to the inspection station to have it looked at again and most likely pass inspection.

Liria Esquivias

Professional

Does smog check get sent to DMV?

Answer: Your smog check results are automatically sent to the DMV via through the smog check machine. Hold on to the Vehicle Inspection Report or smog certificate given to you by the smog station.

Hristiyana Ministro

Explainer

What if I fail smog test?

If your vehicles smog check doesn't pass, you have two choices: repairing the faulty components or stop driving your car. Your DMV registration can't be renewed if your smog check fails. Now, your failed smog test might cost you in repairs.

Ilonka Nesci

Explainer

How much is a registration fee?

A title fee is paid to claim a car's title, which shows who the legal owner of the vehicle is. As of May 2018, the range for vehicle registration costs in the 45 states with a fixed cost was between $8 and $225. The cost for a title in those states ranged from $3 to $100.

Lori Lechmann

Explainer

Durvasa Ravenstein

Pundit

Do I need a smog certificate to sell my car in California?

The state of California has stringent laws around vehicle inspections. As the vehicle seller, you are legally required to provide the buyer with a valid smog certificate at the time of sale. The buyer should also be informed that the provided smog certification is only valid for 90 days after the date it is issued.

Marciano Kleine

Pundit

Do you have to smog a car before registering it?

Cars less than six years old are required to pass a CA smog check. This information is then submitted to the DMV when you register your vehicle. In fact, you will be required to pass this test prior to doing that.

Irian Cunrady

Pundit

How much does an illegal smog cost?

For the consumer - A civil penalty of at least $150, but no more than $1,000, may be assessed to anyone who attempts to fraudulently obtain a smog check or inspection.

Dalal Gabiria

Pundit

How many times can you take a smog test in California?

Most vehicles in California are required to pass a Smog Check every two years for registration renewal. Your DMV Registration Renewal Notice will indicate if your vehicle needs a Smog Check. You may take your vehicle to any Smog Check station, unless it requires a Smog Check at a STAR station.

Binbin Wegehaupt

Pundit

How do you fail a smog test?

Here's How to Pass the California Smog Check
  1. Check the “Check Engine” light. If your “Check Engine” light is on, that's an automatic smog test failure.
  2. 2. Make sure the battery hasn't been recently disconnected.
  3. Get an oil change.
  4. Get a tune-up—but not right before the test.
  5. Fill up the coolant and gas tanks.
  6. Drive fast two weeks before the test.
  7. Get a pre-inspection.

Enar Kossler

Teacher

What happens during a smog test?

During a smog check, a licensed technician will attach measuring equipment to your vehicle. Emissions measured include carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO2), hydrocarbons (HC) and oxygen (O2). In some of the nation's most polluted urban areas, the emissions test also measures levels of oxides of nitrogen (NOx).

Paloma Funfstuck

Teacher

Can you pay registration online after smog check?

No smog check required). They will not check whether a valid certificate is on record. That check will occur once your payment is submitted. And you are only allowed to submit payment up to 90 days in advance of your current registration expiration date; either online or via mail.

Vergil Campia

Teacher

How much is a California smog test?

The normal price range of the average smog test is between $29.95 and $69.95 depending on the county you live in, the type of vehicle you own car, truck, van, SUV, or motorhome, and the type of smog inspection your vehicle requires.

Morten Hedemann

Teacher

How do I know if my car will pass smog?

Any roughness in the performance of the engine will have an impact on the results of your smog test. Also, if your car smokes or over-heats, you may not pass the smog inspection. Smoke from the tailpipe and a hot running engine create high levels of harmful emissions. Be sure that your gas cap fits properly.

Sirio Ezquibel

Reviewer

How long do you have to smog a car in California?

SACRAMENTO (CBS13) – Beginning January 1, you'll get an extra two years before you'll need a smog test on your car. The new law exempts motor vehicles that are 8 or less model-years old from needing to undergo smog checks.

Frederica Verdelhos

Reviewer

What is the difference between a smog check station and a star station?

STAR stations are Smog Check stations that meet higher performance standards established by the Bureau of Automotive Repair. Some STAR stations are licensed to perform only tests, while others are licensed to perform both tests and repairs. The station is required to post a sign on the services it performs.

Yosef Szybis

Reviewer

Can I get a temporary registration in California?

Answer: You do not need to get a smog check in order to receive CA DMV Temporary Tags. In all of these cases the DMV will give the vehicle owner (for a $50.00 fee) a temporary registration tag in order for the vehicle to be driven until the registration is complete. Typically the DMV will allow 30 days.

Violant Quiles

Reviewer

Do you need a smog check every year?

Most vehicles in California are required to pass a Smog Check every two years for registration renewal. Your DMV Registration Renewal Notice will indicate if your vehicle needs a Smog Check. You may take your vehicle to any Smog Check station, unless it requires a Smog Check at a STAR station.