Asked by: Claudia Pharlain
Questioner General

How much does it cost to change your child's last name in Michigan?

Last Updated: 25th April, 2020

26
It costs $175 to file the petition. If youcannot afford to pay this, you can ask the judge towaive the fees. Read Fee Waivers in Court Cases tolearn more about fee waivers. If you are thecustodial parent and your child's other parent doesnot agree to the name change, there are extrasteps.

Click to see full answer.

Keeping this in view, how much does it cost to change your child's name?

There is no cost. It is free to change thelast name of a child during the course of a FamilyCourt proceeding. There is, however, a $65 fee for filing for aname change in Civil Court and a $210 fee for Supreme Court.ShowWhat are the rights of the biological father after a child'sname is changed?

One may also ask, can I change my child's last name without father's consent? You cannot simply change a child's last name whenyou remarry or set up a new partnership. A mother, orfather, cannot change a child's surname by herself orhimself unless she or he is the only person with parentalresponsibility. Even then if the other parent objectsa Court Order should be made.

Furthermore, how much does it cost to legally change your name in Michigan?

There are a variety of fees when changing yourname, and it can be a costly process. Make sure you'refinancially prepared for fees ahead of time. Fees may vary, but thecourt filing fee is generally around $160. If you are required tomake a newspaper announcement of a name change, thecost is $63.50.

How do I change my child's name in Michigan?

To change your child's name, you must:

  1. Complete and file the Petition to Change Name with the familydivision of the circuit court in the county where your childlives.
  2. Pay the required fees.
  3. Notify your child's other parent.
  4. Publish the Notice of Hearing (unless the judge orders yourcase be kept confidential)

Related Question Answers

Taira Monterrey

Professional

Do both parents have to agree to change a child's last name?

When Both Parents Agree to the Name Change(or one parent is deceased or has no legal rights) Whenboth parents agree to have a child's namechanged, the parents can file papers to have a judgelegally change the child's name. Only one parent'sconsent is needed under certain limitedcircumstances.

Issam Glezerman

Professional

Can I change my child's name if I have sole custody?

Your legal right to change your child'slast name does not depend on your custodyarrangement. Even if you have sole legal and physicalcustody, the court might not allow you to change herlast name if her other parent maintains a frequent andloving relationship with her and if he objects.

Editha Rumenapf

Professional

How long do you have to change a baby's name?

Some states allow you to change yourbaby's name within the first 6 months to a year without acourt order. Contact your local health department to inquire aboutthe rules where you live. In some cases, the original birthcertificate is amended, and sometimes a new certificate isissued.

Sinivali Devrient

Explainer

How do I go about changing my child's name?

How to Change a Baby's Last Name Legally
  1. Request consent from the baby's other parent.
  2. Visit your state legislature's official website.
  3. Visit the official website of your state's judicialsystem.
  4. Contact the court clerk's office.
  5. Get the name change forms.
  6. Complete the petition.
  7. Fill out the parental consent form.

Minh Stenncken

Explainer

Can I change my child's name on birth certificate?

A child's legal name can only bechanged via deed poll or through a change of thechild's birth certificate in certain circumstances (see'Changing a child's name via the birthcertificate' below). Schools and GP's often provide the optionto register a ”known as” name in addition toregistering the child's legal name.

Alton Gamino

Explainer

Can a father's name be removed from a birth certificate?

The legal specifics of removing a father'sname from a birth certificate can vary from state tostate, but the process generally involves providing evidence thatthere is no paternal link between the listed father andchild. In some cases, however, there may be a court order toremove the biological father's name.

Virgil Oliger

Pundit

Can I change my daughter last name?

File a Petition for Name Change of Minor, orsimilarly titled document, with the clerk of court of the county inwhich your daughter lives. You will have to providephoto identification and a birth certificate, and in some cases, aSocial Security number.

Gregoria Barquina

Pundit

How hard is it to legally change your name?

In most states, you have to pay a fee (usually $150 to$200) to file your name change petition in court. It alsocosts a small amount of money to get forms notarized. And if you'regetting married, you may want to pay for additional certifiedcopies of your marriage certificate to use as proof ofyour new last name.

Mitchell Fink

Pundit

How do I change my name legally in Michigan?

To change your name on your driver'slicense or state ID card, you must visit a branch office andpresent: Your valid driver's license or state ID card. Proofof the name change. You'll need to bring in a certifiedname-change document, such as your marriagelicense or court order.

Seydou Willcke

Pundit

Can I change my last name without getting married?

Changing Your Last Name Without a CourtOrder
This "usage method" is legal in many states, but it'snot always effective. In most cases, you can't changeyour government identification without a court order,like a marriage certificate or divorcejudgment.

Ramiro Remartinez

Pundit

Can I change my last name?

The process for legally changing your firstname is the same as for legally changing your lastname. It differs somewhat from state to state, but in allstates you need to ask permission from the court and obtain anorder from a judge. This order allows you to change yourbirth certificate and other documents.

Anahid Thielmanns

Teacher

How do you change your name after you get married?

You will also need to bring the followingdocuments:
  1. Proof of Citizenship: your valid passport or a certified copyof your birth certificate.
  2. Proof of Name Change: a certified copy of your marriagelicense.
  3. Proof of Identity: this must show your name, date of birth orage, and have a recent photograph.

Nouhaila Brelie

Teacher

How long do you have to change your name after marriage in Michigan?

You can seek to change your name in thestate of Michigan as long as you have lived inthe county of your residency for at least 12 months. Legallychanging your name requires a completion of form PC 51,which is titled the Petition to Change Name. The form has tobe filed with the county's circuit court.

Xiujuan Zasyadko

Teacher

How do I change my name on my Social Security card in Michigan?

To get a corrected Social Security card, you will needto:
  1. Show the required documents. You will need proof of youridentity.
  2. Fill out and print an Application for a Social Security Card;and.
  3. Take or mail your application and documents to your localSocial Security office.

Tuastri Daal

Teacher

How long does it take to get married in Michigan?

There is a three-day waiting period after theapplication before the license may be issued and used.Michigan requires two witnesses (who must be at least 18years of age). Marriage license is valid for 33days.

Aintzane GrisaleƱa

Reviewer

How old do you have to be to change your name in Michigan?

In order for anyone under the age of eighteen(18) to change their name, they must first obtainboth of their parents consent; and if a minor isfourteen (14) years old or older, they must give theirconsent in order for their parents to have their namechanged.

Adriene Ysmal

Reviewer

How do I get a Social Security card in Michigan?

If you have never been issued a Social Securitycard, you may apply for one at no cost at a localSocial Security office. You will need to: Bring a completedForm SS-5 (Application for a Social Security Card)and, Provide at least two documents to confirm your age, identityand citizenship or legal presence.

Adur Larrabe

Reviewer

Should a baby have the father's last name?

Unmarried couples typically have two differentlast names. The child may carry the mother'ssurname, father's surname or a hyphenatedsurname. The name the couple chooses then appears onthe newborn's birth certificate. An alleged father'sdenial of paternity does not ensure the child willnot carry his last name.

Helenca Sivianes

Reviewer

What is considered unsafe living conditions for a child?

An unsafe environment that poses threats for yourchildren and are instances where a court will step-ininclude: Physical abuse to intentionally harm the child'sbody or mind. Neglecting the child by failing to give themwhat he/she needs. Failure to supply enough food or appropriatemedical care.