Asked by: Selica
family and relationships marriage and civil unions

How much does it cost to get married in Hillsborough County?

Last Updated: 5th February, 2020

42
The standard fee for a marriage license is $93.50. The reduced fee for applicants (Florida residents only) who have completed course attendance is $61.00.

Click to see full answer.

Herein, how do I get married in Hillsborough County?

If you plan to receive your marriage license, must appear in person at the clerk's office and provide:

  1. A complete application (online application available)
  2. Valid photo ID (driver's license, state issued ID, passport, etc.)
  3. Social security numbers (or alien registration number)
  4. Marriage license fee.

Furthermore, can you get married the same day in Florida? Yes, for Florida residents. Marriage license applications are issued the same day as requested as long as all requirements are met. But there is a 3-day waiting period to be married for couples who live in Florida but do not provide proof that they have completed a premarital preparation course.

Considering this, how much is it to get married at the courthouse in Florida?

To get married in Florida, visiting couples need only go together to the nearest clerk of the circuit court office to obtain a marriage license. Marriage licenses are good for 60 days. The standard fee is $93.50, which can be reduced to $61 for Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course.

Can I make an appointment to get married at the courthouse?

When you get married at a courthouse there is typically no designated room to get changed or prepared before the ceremony. Make sure you have your marriage license, witnesses, IDs, and money to pay for the ceremony. Arrive at least 15-20 minutes ahead of your scheduled appointment (if you have one).

Related Question Answers

Bety Hungriger

Professional

Are witnesses required for marriage in Florida?

A: Although the marriage certificate has spaces for two witnesses to sign, witnesses are not specifically required by law. A Florida marriage license is good in any county in Florida. However, after the marriage is solemnized, the license must be returned to the county that issued it for recording.

Visita Miota

Professional

How do you pay for marriage license?

Payments can be made by:
  1. Cash.
  2. Check: Make payable to the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk or RRCC.
  3. Money order: Make payable to the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk or RRCC.
  4. Credit/debit card: Valid identification, such as a driver's license, of the signer is required and must be presented at time of request.

Emanuil Quasto

Professional

Do I need to make an appointment to get a marriage license?

You can even try to make an appointment before you show up so that you don't have to wait too long. You and your significant other must both be present at the time of the marriage license application. Typically, however, you'll need a driver's license or passport, but you may also need a birth certificate.

Sofka Porumbaru

Explainer

How much does the marriage license cost?

Cost. there is a $40 government fee for the Marriage Licence. contact a registry agent office as service fees vary. you must pay for the Marriage Licence before you receive it.

Sashko Murrugarra

Explainer

Do you need an appointment to get a marriage license?

An appointment is required to obtain a marriage license and/or civil ceremony. For a Confidential Marriage License, no witnesses are required to be present at the ceremony, AND no witnesses sign on the marriage license.

Nidae Kong

Explainer

Do both parties have to go to get a marriage license?

A marriage license is a document that you must obtain from the county clerk before you get married. Most states require both spouses, the officiant, and one or two witnesses, to sign the marriage certificate. This is often done just after the ceremony.

Annemieke Balawensky

Pundit

Can you get your marriage license online?

You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via "City Clerk Online". This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. Your Marriage License will be processed while you wait.

Petrus Haberlik

Pundit

Do both parties have to be present when applying for a marriage license?

Both parties are required to be present to either apply for or pick up the marriage license with few exceptions. If you have an extenuating circumstance where both parties cannot be present, make sure to find out your local requirements about this.

Lovella Cronn

Pundit

What documents do I need to get married in Florida?

To obtain a marriage license you need: Identification: a picture ID such as a driver's license, state ID card, or valid passport; both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide their Social Security Cards. Fees: $93.50.

Angelika Hazanov

Pundit

How long does it take to get married at the courthouse?

Plus, many states — not just cities like Las Vegas and Atlantic City — allow you to get married on the same day, or within 24 hours of your marriage-license application. Not to mention the courthouse ceremony itself usually takes less than 10 minutes.

Dominick Erckmann

Pundit

Can any notary marry you in Florida?

A. A Florida notary cannot officiate for any wedding unless the marriage license is issued in Florida.

Birute Landahl

Teacher

What are the requirements for getting married in Florida?

To obtain a marriage license you need: Identification: a picture ID such as a driver's license, state ID card, or valid passport; both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide their Social Security Cards. Fees: $93.50.

Roshan Fantova

Teacher

How much is a premarital course in Florida?

The cost of our online premarital course is $19.99 (per couple) giving you an actual savings of $12.51 off your Florida Marriage License.

Yuniel Mihalkovsky

Teacher

What do you wear to a courthouse wedding?

A: The short answer: You can wear whatever you'd like! Courthouse wedding dresses vary from a traditional bridal gown to simple street wear; somewhere in the middle is probably your best option. If you've dreamt of a traditional white dress, you can opt for a simple sheath or a sundress.

Ammar Beloglazov

Teacher

Can I get married without a license?

In other jurisdictions, a license is not required. In some jurisdictions, a "pardon" can be obtained for marrying without a license, and in some jurisdictions, common-law marriages and marriage by cohabitation and representation are also recognized. These do not require a marriage license.

Waleska Smythe

Reviewer

Is there a waiting period to get married in Florida?

Marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance. Both parties must be prepared to give their Social Security number. The fee for a marriage license is $93.50 and there is a three (3) day waiting period for Florida residents; there is no waiting period for non-residents.

Huang Galko

Reviewer

Who can marry you in Florida?

Who can legally perform a marriage ceremony in Florida?
  • All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, elders in communion with a church, or other ordained clergy.
  • A minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination to perform marriage ceremonies.

Alfonsina Casaban

Reviewer

Do you need a permit to get married on the beach in Florida?

Finally, if you get married on public land in Florida, you may be required to obtain a permit. The rules regarding Florida beach wedding permits vary. Individual cities such as Pompano Beach and Dania Beach require permits, but nearby Fort Walton Beach does not require permits for weddings on its city beaches.

Amelia Westheimer

Reviewer

How long does it take to get a marriage certificate in Florida?

You should receive a certified copy of the marriage license in the mail within 4-6 weeks. You can order additional copies through your local courthouse for a fee. You'll need the certified copy of your marriage license to change your name, obtain a new Social Security card, and update account records, etc.