Asked by: Mosaab Pastoriza
business and finance legal services industry

What are the 15 departments of the executive branch?

Last Updated: 25th May, 2020

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the

Click to see full answer.

Similarly one may ask, what are the functions of the 15 cabinet departments in the executive branch?

Terms in this set (15)

  • State. advises president on foreign policy and negotiates treaties with foreign countries.
  • Treasury. produces coins and bills, collects taxes; enforces alcohol, tobacco, and firearm laws; IRS and US mint, Secret Service.
  • Defense (war)
  • Justice (Attorney General)
  • Interior.
  • Agriculture.
  • Commerce.
  • Labor.

Also Know, how many executive departments are there? 15 executive departments

Simply so, what are two departments that operate within the executive branch?

The largest organizational units within the executive branch are the 15 executive departments: Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Homeland Security, HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT, Interior, Justice, Labor, State, Transportation, the Treasury, and Veterans Affairs.

What are the major agencies of the executive branch called?

The Executive Office of the President (EOP) comprises four agencies that advise the president in key policy areas: the White House Office, the National Security Council, the Council of Economic Advisors, and the Office of Management and Budget.

Related Question Answers

Chunling Taco


What branch of government is responsible for immigration?

Washington, D.C., U.S. U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is an agency of the United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) that administers the country's naturalization and immigration system.

Iola Janzhul


What is the primary function of the executive branch?

The executive branch of the U.S. government is responsible for enforcing laws; its power is vested in the President. The President acts as both the head of state and commander-in-chief of the armed forces. Independent federal agencies are tasked with enforcing the laws enacted by Congress.

Marizol Kamperschror


What are five cabinet positions?

Below are the Cabinet positions and their responsibilities, listed in order of succession to the Presidency:
  • Vice President of the United States.
  • Secretary of State.
  • Secretary of the Treasury.
  • Secretary of Defense.
  • United States Attorney General.
  • Secretary of the Interior.
  • Secretary of Agriculture.
  • Secretary of Commerce.

Mariasol Hoffstadt


What does the State Department do?

The US Department of State functions as the diplomatic wing of the federal government, handling matters of foreign affairs with other nations and international bodies. The State Department's primary job is to promote American foreign policy throughout the world.

Manrique Tittje


What are the departments of government?

Executive Departments
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture.
  • U.S. Department of Commerce.
  • U.S. Department of Defense.
  • U.S. Department of Education.
  • U.S. Department of Energy.
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Sevdalin Holm


What are the requirements to be in the executive branch?

The executive branch. The executive branch is headed by the president, who must be a natural-born citizen of the United States, at least 35 years old, and a resident of the country for at least 14 years.

Bonka Babar


How many departments does a company have?

Common departments include Marketing, Finance, Operations management, Human Resource, and IT. These five divisions represent the major departments within a publicly traded company, though there are often smaller departments within autonomous firms.

Galatea Schings


How are executive departments created?

Executive agencies are created by the president, while legislative agencies are established by an act of Congress. One of the main differences between an executive agency and a legislative agency is that the president may remove the head of an executive agency at any time with or without cause.

Zenaida Camas


Luminita Kindlein


What executive branch means?

executive branch. The branch of federal and state government that is broadly responsible for implementing, supporting, and enforcing the laws made by the legislative branch and interpreted by the judicial branch.

Illia Khalfaoui


What do the executive departments do?

The Cabinet and independent federal agencies are responsible for the day-to-day enforcement and administration of federal laws. Fifteen executive departments — each led by an appointed member of the President's Cabinet — carry out the day-to-day administration of the federal government.

Esosa Chirila


Who is in charge of the executive branch?

President of the United States

Seny Yvenat


What is the judicial branch responsible for?

Cultural definitions for judicial branch
The court systems of local, state, and federal governments, responsible for interpreting the laws passed by the legislative branch and enforced by the executive branch.

Tome Renpenning


Who is the head of the legislative branch?

The presiding officer of the chamber is the Speaker of the House, elected by the Representatives. He or she is third in the line of succession to the Presidency.

Wilhemina Regueira


Who are the two most prominent officials in the executive branch?

Who are the two most important officials in the executive branch? The President and the Vice President.

Forest Martin


What are the three parts of the executive branch?

To get the job done, the president needs help. This help comes from the three parts of the executive branch - the Executive Office of the President, the Cabinet, and the independent agencies. The Executive Office of the President works directly with the president.

Chafiq Maartens


What are the checks and balances of each branch?

Checks and Balances. The Constitution divided the Government into three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial. The President in the executive branch can veto a law, but the legislative branch can override that veto with enough votes.

Heiner Mall


How do executive orders work?

In the United States, an executive order is a directive issued by the president of the United States that manages operations of the federal government. At any time, the president may revoke, modify, or make exceptions from any executive order, whether the order was made by the current president or a predecessor.

Nicuta Friessnegg


How many vacancies are in the Trump administration?

Following President Trump's election, there were around 4,000 political appointment positions which the incoming Trump administration needed to review, and fill or confirm, of which 1,212 required Senate confirmation. The Washington Post has identified 705 key positions requiring U.S. Senate confirmation.