Co-Authored By:
Here's a quick list of a few ingredients that you may not realize aren't vegan, or in some cases, not even vegetarian.
- Beeswax and Honey.
- Casein or Milk Byproducts.
- Confectioner's Glaze on Candy.
- Gelatin and Gelatin Products.
- Isinglass in Beer and Wine.
- L. Cysteine in Bread Products.
- Whey in Bread and Sweets.
Simply so, what foods are surprisingly not vegan?
1–6: Animal Foods
- Meat: Beef, lamb, pork, veal, horse, organ meat, wild meat, etc.
- Poultry: Chicken, turkey, goose, duck, quail, etc.
- Fish and seafood: All types of fish, anchovies, shrimp, squid, scallops, calamari, mussels, crab, lobster and fish sauce.
- Dairy: Milk, yogurt, cheese, butter, cream, ice cream, etc.
- Legumes.
- Nuts, Nut Butters and Seeds.
- Hemp, Flax and Chia Seeds.
- Tofu and Other Minimally Processed Meat Substitutes.
- Calcium-Fortified Plant Milks and Yogurts.
- Seaweed.
- Nutritional Yeast.
- Sprouted and Fermented Plant Foods.
Besides, what fruits and vegetables are not vegan?
"It's migratory beekeeping and it's unnatural use of animals and there are lots of foods that fall foul of this. Broccoli is a good example. Cherries, cucumbers, lettuce. Lots and lots of vegan things are actually not strictly vegan."
Whether you're serving a vegetarian guest or going vegetarian yourself, here are a few surprising foods you should avoid.
- Vegetable Soups.
- Frosted Mini-Wheats and Lucky Charms.
- Altoids.
- Candy Corn.
- Tortillas.
- Certain Vitamins.
- Processed Sugar.
- Red Candies.