Asked by: Germelina Furundarena
family and relationships parenting teens

What is the Romeo and Juliet law in Utah?

Last Updated: 1st April, 2021

19
The “Romeo and Juliet” Exemption
In Utah, there is a Romeo and Juliet exemption for consensual sex between minors who are close in age and even when one party is a minor, but the defendant is fewer than seven (or ten) years older than the minor (discussed above). (Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-5-401.2, 76-5-401.3 (2018).)

Click to see full answer.

In this way, can an 18 year old date a 16 year old in Utah?

Utah is among the few U.S. states that have separate ages of consent for women and men. For women, the age of consent in Utah is 16 years old. While for men, it is 18 years old. No person under the age of 18, male or female, can legally consent to sex with a person who is more than 10 years older than the minor.

Additionally, where does the Romeo and Juliet law apply? Romeo and Juliet Law in Texas. Here in Texas, a Romeo and Juliet law protects those who have sexual intercourse with those under the age of 18, but several conditions need to be met to qualify for that protection.

In this manner, can a 17 year old date a 21 year old in Utah?

There is no law that prevents a 19 year old from dating a 17 year old. However, if you have sexual relations you could have problems with having sex with a minor and be charged with that.

Can a 20 year old date a 17 year old legally?

There is nothing illegal about a 20 year old dating a 17 year old. However, the 17 year old's parents could stop her from dating.

Related Question Answers

Ageda Ocasek

Professional

How old is a minor in Utah?

Utah Age Of Consent Law: 76-5-401.2. Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old. (1) As used in this section, ""minor"" means a person who is 16 years of age or older, but younger than 18 years of age, at the time the sexual conduct described in Subsection (2) occurred.

Romer Taufkirch

Professional

Coralia Biggs

Professional

What is the youngest age of consent in the US?

The federal law establishes the age of 12 as the minimum age of consent, while the age at which there are no restrictions for consensual sexual activities is 18 (sex with someone 12-18 is not illegal per se, but can still be open to prosecution under certain circumstances).

Elian Agredo

Explainer

What is a minor in Utah?

Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16- or 17-year-old. (1) As used in this section, "minor" means an individual who is 16 years of age or older, but younger than 18 years of age, at the time the sexual conduct described in Subsection (2) occurred.

Leira Antonchenko

Explainer

What is the youngest age of consent?

The second-highest age of consent is 20 in South Korea, while the majority of other countries have an Age of Consent between 16 and 18. The lowest Age of Consent in the world is 11, in Nigeria. The age of consent is 12 in the Philippines and Angola, and 13 in Burkina Faso, Comoros, Niger, and Japan.

Becki Mittermair

Explainer

Teolindo Bouteiller

Pundit

What is the curfew law in Utah?

The curfew laws are set in place to curb criminal activity and also to keep minors safe. Utah law states that minors under the age of 18 cannot be out in public between the hours of midnight and 6:00 a.m.

Iliasse Molochkov

Pundit

Hosni Lokesh

Pundit

When did 18 become the age of consent?

The government was forced to propose the Criminal Law Amendment Act 1885, which raised the age of consent from thirteen to sixteen and clamped down on prostitution. In the United States, as late as the 1880s most states set the minimum age at ten to twelve (in Delaware, it was seven in 1895).

Mario Boucher

Pundit

Is it legal for a 19 year old to date a 16 year old?

A 19 year old boy can date a 16 year old girl, but he cannot have any sexual contact with her or he runs the risk of being charged with sexual assault of a minor. You don't mention what your parents and his parents think about you two dating.

Otha Doniga

Pundit

Is dating a 16 year old at 20 OK?

No, it's not against the law for a 20 year old to "DATE" a 16 year old. The definition of 'date' means to go out together to a movie or to dinner or dance. It does not mean having sex

Fatoum Dubreuil

Teacher

Azarias Dandl

Supporter

How old was Romeo?

Quick Answer. Shakespeare never gives Romeo a specific age. Although his age could be anywhere between 13–21, he is typically portrayed as being around the age of 16.

Buensuceso Tableriou

Supporter

Can a 15 and 19 year old date?

Youth 14 or 15 years of age can consent to nonexploitative sexual activity when the age difference is no more than five years. For example, a 15-year-old can consent to having sexual intercourse with a 20-year-old, but not with a 21-year-old.

Svyatoslav Ketteler

Supporter

What is the legal age of consent in Tennessee?

Tennessee Age of Consent Laws 2019
Tennessee statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 18. A close in age exemption allows teens ages 13-18 to consent to partners less than 4 years older. Punishments differ depending on the ages of victim and offender.

Sebastiao Nastasa

Beginner

Should I let my 15 year old daughter date?

There's no right answer. It's important to consider your child as an individual. For many kids, 16 seems to be an appropriate age, but it may be entirely suitable for a mature 15-year-old to go on a date, or to make your immature 16-year-old wait a year or two. You can also consider what other parents are doing.

Cristofol Etherton

Beginner

Is age really just a number?

Age is not necessarily just a number. But it will always be represented as a number because it is the length of time that a person has lived or a thing has existed in the physical world. Likewise a 50 year old person can have the maturity level of a 10 year old. But they are still 50.

Pape Eheheh

Beginner

What the oldest a 17 year old should date?

It's not dating that is a problem. The problem is if you decide to have sexual intercourse. As a 17-year-old, you may only have sex with someone who consents and is up to the age of 23, until you're 18 years old.