Asked by: Celedonio Hulstautomotive auto safety
When can you stop using a booster seat in California?
Last Updated: 25th February, 2020
Click to see full answer.
In this manner, what is the weight requirement for a booster seat in California?
Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subjectto California's Mandatory Seat Belt law. In regardsto booster seats, the CHP says: "A child is ready fora booster seat when they have outgrown the weight orheight limit of their forward-facing harnesses, which is typicallybetween 40 and 65 pounds.
Subsequently, question is, what is the law on car seats in California? Infant Car Seat Requirements inCalifornia California Car Seat Law requires all childrenunder the age of two to be in rear-facing car seats in theback seat. Keep your baby in a rear-facing car seatuntil they are at least 40 pounds and 40 inches tall. That meansyour child will likely be about four yearsold.
Besides, when can I stop using a booster seat in the car?
All children whose weight or height exceeds theforward-facing limit for their car safety seat shoulduse a belt positioning booster seat until the vehicleseat belt fits properly, typically when they have reached 4feet 9 inches in height and are 8 through 12 years ofage.
What kind of seat should a 4 year old be in?
When your child reaches the highest weight or heightlimit allowed for his forward-facing child safety seat witha harness, he should use a belt-positioning boosterseat until the vehicle lap and shoulder belt (adultseat belt) fits properly, typically when he reaches 4feet 9 inches in height and is between 8 and 12