Asked by: Jone Blankenhaus
science geography

Which way does the equator run?

Last Updated: 3rd April, 2020

The equator is 0 degrees latitude, and the prime meridian is 0 degrees longitude. The equator is the halfway point between the North Pole and the South Pole. It runs from side to side across the middle of the Earth through parts of South America, Africa, and Asia.

Click to see full answer.

Keeping this in view, does the equator run east to west?

Latitude lines run east and west and measure north and south; longitude lines run north and south and measure east and west. The equator is 0 degree latitude. This imaginary line, which runs through parts of South America, Africa, and Asia, is officially the halfway point between the North Pole and the South Pole.

Furthermore, what lines measure north and south of the equator and run east to west? The imaginary lines circling the globe in an east-west direction are called the lines of latitude (or parallels, as they are parallel to the equator). They are used to measure distances north and south of the equator. The lines circling the globe in a north-south direction are called lines of longitude (or meridians).

In this regard, how do lines of latitude run in relation to the equator?

Lines of latitude (parallels) run east-west around the globe and are used to measure distances NORTH and SOUTH of the equator. Since the equator is 0?, the latitude of the north pole, 1/4 of the way around the globe going in a northerly direction, would be 90?N. This is the highest latitude possible.

What purpose does the equator serve?

The Equator and Prime Meridian are circles that stretch all the way around the Earth. The Equator separates the Northern and Southern Hemispheres. The Equator is at 0° latitude. The Prime Meridian separates the Eastern and Western Hemispheres.

Related Question Answers

Issmail Carregueiro


What are the 2 main lines of longitude?

The Equator, Tropics, and Prime Meridian
Four of the most significant imaginary lines running across the surface of Earth are the equator, the Tropic of Cancer, the Tropic of Capricorn, and the Prime Meridian.

Domenica Brumos


What is 0 degrees longitude called?

Zero degrees latitude is the line designating the Equator and divides the Earth into two equal hemispheres (north and south). Zero degrees longitude is an imaginary line known as the Prime Meridian.

Chahid Kneehans


Severina Bezanilla


What happens at the equator line?

The Equator is the invisible line that runs around the center of the Earth at 0 degrees latitude. An equator divides the planet into a Northern Hemisphere and a Southern Hemisphere. The Earth is widest at its Equator. The distance around the Earth at the Equator, its circumference, is 40,075 kilometers (24,901 miles).

Khadouj Ruof


Are latitude lines parallel?

Lines of latitude measure north-south position between the poles. The equator is defined as 0 degrees, the North Pole is 90 degrees north, and the South Pole is 90 degrees south. Lines of latitude are all parallel to each other, thus they are often referred to as parallels.

Satnam Scheipl


Bihotza Markgrafe


What will happen if there are no imaginary lines on Earth?

They are imaginary lines so that we can navigate around this planet of ours. Without them we couldn't make maps or find our way across the sea or define boundaries borders etc etc. There is no physical pole up North or down South. Unless you measured it there is NO physical line denoting the PM or the Equator.

Onintza Diderihs


What is the highest value a line of longitude will have?

Lines of longitude (meridians) running north-south around the globe measure distances EAST and WEST of the Prime Meridian. Directly on the opposite side of the earth from the prime meridian is located the 180 meridian. This is the highest longitude possible.

Gottfried Itzl


Isidoro Wahlmuller


What are the 7 major lines of latitude?

Terms in this set (7)
  • North Pole. 90 degrees north.
  • Arctic Circle. 66.5 degrees north.
  • Tropic of Cancer. 23.5 degrees north.
  • Equator. 0 degrees.
  • Tropic of Capricorn. 23.5 degrees south.
  • antarctic circle. 66.5 degrees south.
  • south pole. 90 degrees south.

Naveeda Abeln


What are the lines above and below the equator called?

Circles of Latitude & Longitude - The Equator, The Prime Meridian, The Tropic of Cancer and Capricorn. Latitudes are the progressive angular measurements north or south of the equator are the imaginary lines running from east to west on the Earth's surface.

Ziqi Jelokhovtsev


Which way is longitude and latitude?

The latitude lines are the rungs and the longitude lines are the "long" lines that hold those rungs together. Latitude lines run east and west. Just like rungs on a ladder, they remain parallel as they run across the earth's surface. In this way, you can easily remember that latitude is just like "ladder"-tude.

Marylou Martija


What is the area south of the equator called?

The Southern Hemisphere is the half of Earth that is south of the Equator.

Ingo Motzkin


How hot is the equator?

Average annual temperatures in equatorial lowlands are around 31 °C (88 °F) during the afternoon and 23 °C (73 °F) around sunrise.

Nelutu Gottschal


What is an example of longitude?

Longitude is the angular distance of a place east or west of the meridian at Greenwich, England. For example, New York and Miami have almost exactly the same longitudes: around 80 degrees west. Berlin on the other hand has a longitude of 13 degrees east. Beijing, China, has a longitude of 116 degrees east.

Vitaliano Bocardo


What are lines of longitude called?

longitude lines. Imaginary lines, also called meridians, running vertically around the globe. Unlike latitude lines, longitude lines are not parallel. Meridians meet at the poles and are widest apart at the equator. Zero degrees longitude (0°) is called the prime meridian.

Iker Pavlic


What are the lines of latitude called?

Lines of latitude are also called parallels because they run horizontally to each other and the equator.

Julito Ponti


What are the two meridians?

The meridian through Greenwich (inside Greenwich Park), England, called the Prime Meridian, was set at zero degrees of longitude, while other meridians were defined by the angle at the center of the earth between where it and the prime meridian cross the equator.

Bei Kouropoulos


What are the 5 major lines of longitude?

The five major parallels of latitudes from north to south are called: Arctic Circle, Tropic of Cancer, Equator, Tropic of Capricorn, and the Antarctic Circle. On a maps where the orientation of the map is either due north or due south, latitude appears as horizontal lines.