Asked by: Susan Imamaliev
music and audio soundtracks

Why is my video private on YouTube?

Last Updated: 12th May, 2020

42
Private means only those you invite to viewthevideo can view it (they must have their ownYoutubeaccounts and the maximum number is 50usernames). Yourvideo will not come up under any searchresults or yourchannel list. If you try to share it with someonewho wasn'tinvited, they will not be able to connect toit.

Click to see full answer.

Likewise, people ask, how do I make my video private on YouTube?

Creator Studio Classic instructions

  1. Go to your Video Manager.
  2. Find the video you want to change, then click Edit.
  3. In the "Privacy Settings" drop-down menu, choose betweenPublic,Private, and Unlisted.
  4. Click Save changes.

One may also ask, what is the difference between private and unlisted on YouTube? YouTube's UNLISTED video option givesuserssomething between the Public and Privatesettings.Unlisted videos can be seen and shared by anyonewith thevideo link, including those who do not have a GoogleAccount. Thereare, in fact, entire sites dedicated to listingunlistedYouTube videos.

In this regard, why did YouTube make my video private?

When a video is locked as private, itwon'tappear on your channel or in search results, and willbeinvisible to other users. Unlike user-selectedprivatevideos, you will not be able to changethevideo's state until after you havesuccessfullysubmitted the video for re-review.

What does private and unlisted mean on YouTube?

An unlisted video is a different typeofprivate video. "Unlisted" means thatonlypeople who know the link to the video can view it (such asfriendsor family to whom you send the link). An unlistedvideo willnot appear in any of YouTube's public spaces (suchas searchresults, your channel, or the Browse page).

Related Question Answers

Marisha Heipieper

Professional

Are private YouTube videos really private?

Unlike unlisted videos, when you shareaprivate YouTube video, that person cannot sharethevideo with others. If you want to share yourprivatevideo with more than 50 people, sadly, you are out ofluck:YouTube limits you to share the video with just50other users.

Manssour Meiswinkel

Professional

How do I make YouTube videos private on my Iphone?

Change video privacy settings
  1. Sign in to YouTube on your mobile device.
  2. Tap Library My videos.
  3. Next to the video you want to change, tap More Edit.
  4. In the Privacy drop-down menu, choose between Public,Private,and Unlisted.
  5. Tap the arrow at the top to save changes.

Licinio Jorges

Professional

When you send someone a YouTube link can they see your history?

Although other YouTube userscan'tsee viewing history from yourYouTube Channelpage, someone who shares yourcomputer might be ableto sneak a peek at what you've viewedif you forgotto sign out of your YouTube account atthe end ofthe session.

Dayara Verhoefen

Explainer

Can you password protect a YouTube video?

YouTube does notofferpassword-protection for videos. Itdoeshowever offer two different ways of controlling access toyourvideo: Label video as Unlisted: The videoisnot listed on YouTube, so that only users who have thelinkto the video can view it. Users do not need tologinto be able to watch the video.

Vanilda Heddrichs

Explainer

How do I post a video on You Tube?

To get started uploading your video on YouTube, followthesteps below:
  1. Prepare the file.
  2. Log in to your YouTube account.
  3. Click the Upload button.
  4. Choose a video file.
  5. Click the Open or Choose button.
  6. Add the details.
  7. Choose Privacy settings.
  8. Share your video (if you want)

Suyun Chakrabarti

Pundit

Can subscribers see unlisted videos?

Unlisted videos sit between public andprivate.When you make a video unlisted, it won't appear in—search results, your video tab or in suggestions.Yoursubscriber will also not get any notification if thenewvideo you uploaded was unlisted. However, anyonewitha video's link can watch theunlistedvideo.

Euridice Werbrouck

Pundit

What is a scheduled video on YouTube?

You can use scheduled publishingtoschedule a private video to go public at aspecifictime. You have to first set the video as"scheduled"or "private" on the upload page. Then, you canset the date, time,and time zone that you want your video tobe published. Thevideo will stay private until thescheduledtime.

Deyvid Lumona

Pundit

Who can view private YouTube videos?

Private vs. Unlisted on YouTube
  • Public is the default setting and that means anybody canseeyour video.
  • Private means only those you invite to view the video canviewit (they must have their own Youtube accounts and themaximumnumber is 50 usernames).
  • Unlisted means your video will not come up in search resultsoron your channel either.

Freeman Greig

Pundit

How long does it take to process a YouTube video?

Google says this about YouTube videoprocessing:Processing time varies greatly depending on the formatof youroriginal video, file size, and upload traffic. Thiscouldtake anywhere from a few minutes to several hours.Youshould also expect that higher resolution formatswillrender more slowly.

Heath Zhigarev

Pundit

How do you delete a YouTube video?

How to delete a YouTube video
  1. Visit YouTube's desktop website and navigate toyourchannel.
  2. From your channel, select "Youtube Studio (Beta)" –then,click on the "Videos" tab.
  3. Find the video you'd like to delete and hover your mouseoverit.
  4. Click on the menu button and select "Delete"

Renu

Teacher

What does private mean YouTube?

Private means only those you invite to viewthevideo can view it (they must have their ownYoutubeaccounts). Your video will not come up under anysearch results oryour channel list. If you try to share it withsomeone who wasn'tinvited, they will not be able to connect toit.

Estuardo Haritshandy

Teacher

How do I change my privacy settings on YouTube Mobile?

Change video privacy settings
  1. Sign in to YouTube on your mobile device.
  2. Tap Library My videos.
  3. Next to the video you want to change, tap More Edit.
  4. In the Privacy drop-down menu, choose between Public,Private,and Unlisted.
  5. Tap the arrow at the top to save changes.

Sughran Peri

Teacher

Can unlisted videos get copyright strikes?

We do not allow users with anyCommunityGuidelines or copyright strikes against theiraccounts toupload unlisted videos." So, there yougo--the newprivacy option has no real impact on what's goingon behind thescenes of your uploads.